New Chair of the Defence Honours and Awards Appeals Tribunal appointed

Release details

Release type

Related ministers and contacts

The Hon Darren Chester MP

Minister for Veterans’ Affairs

Minister for Defence Personnel

Media contacts

Rachel Tharratt: 02 6277 7820
Defence Media:

Release content

17 November 2020

After reaching the maximum tenure as Chair of the Defence Honours and Awards Appeals Tribunal, Mr Mark Sullivan AO will hand over the reins to Mr Stephen Skehill.

Minister for Defence Personnel Darren Chester said Mr Skehill was well-qualified for the role, being a former Secretary of the Commonwealth Attorney-General’s Department and the inaugural Principal Member of the Veterans’ Review Board.

“I congratulate Mr Skehill on his appointment and know that his experience as an administrative lawyer, as well as his wealth of public and private sector experience will be of great benefit to the Tribunal.”

Mr Skehill will take over from Mr Mark Sullivan AO, who served as Chair of the Tribunal since 2014, reaching the maximum allowed tenure in November 2020. 

“I would like to acknowledge the diligent and considerate approach taken by the Tribunal under Mr Sullivan’s leadership,” Mr Chester said.

“During this time the Tribunal resolved a number of longstanding and complex issues relating to collective and individual service from the Second World War to contemporary operations.

“I wish Mr Sullivan all the best in whatever he chooses to pursue next, and again congratulate Mr Skehill on his appointment.”

The Defence Honours and Awards Appeals Tribunal is an independent statutory body established to consider Defence honours and awards matters. More information is available online at

Other related releases