Defence Housing Australia Board appointments

Release details

Release type

Related ministers and contacts

The Hon Darren Chester MP

Minister for Veterans’ Affairs

Minister for Defence Personnel

Release content

28 October 2020

The Government has reappointed the Hon J.A.L (Sandy) Macdonald as Chair of the Defence Housing Australia (DHA) Board and appointed Ms Gai Brodtmann as a Commercial Member, each for a three year term, commencing 12 February 2021.

Mr Macdonald joined the DHA Board in 2008 and has served four terms, including two terms as Chair. His reappointment provides stability and will support the DHA Board to implement key strategic reforms in a complex and challenging economic environment.  

Ms Brodtmann brings extensive experience in government, business management, foreign affairs, and the property and Defence sectors. Along with former roles serving as Shadow Assistant Minister for Cyber Security and Defence and Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for Defence, with shadow portfolio responsibilities for defence housing, Ms Brodtmann has managed her own business consulting to clients such as the Property Council of Australia and the Department of Defence. She has also had a successful career in the federal public service in the Foreign Affairs and Attorney-General’s portfolios.

Ms Brodtmann is currently on the boards of the Australian Strategic Policy Institute Council, Museum of Australian Democracy at Old Parliament House, Sapien Cyber Advisory Board and Endometriosis Australia. Her appointment supports the Government’s commitment to gender diversity, increasing the female representation on the DHA Board to 50 per cent.

The Government thanks the Hon Alan Ferguson for his service as a Commercial Member of the DHA Board.

The Government congratulates Mr Macdonald and Ms Brodtmann on their respective appointments, and looks forward to continuing to work with DHA into the future as it continues to deliver for Australian Defence Force members and their families.

Other related releases