Chief Defence Scientist recognised for leadership excellence

Release details

Release type

Related ministers and contacts

Senator the Hon Linda Reynolds CSC

Minister for Defence

Media contact

Nicky Hamer (Minister Reynolds’ Office): +61 437 989 927

Defence Media:

Release content

2 August 2019

I congratulate Chief Defence Scientist Professor Tanya Monro on winning the 2019 South Australian Award for Excellence in Women’s Leadership.

In its 15th year, the award highlights the contributions of women at a national, state and territory level who are advancing gender equality across Australia.

Professor Monro was recognised for her abilities as a leading scientist and organisational leader.

Defence is fortunate to have an exceptional leader in Professor Monro, who is responsible for delivering science and technology for national security.

Before being appointed Chief Defence Scientist in March, she delivered significant organisational transformation and positive cultural change as the University of South Australia’s Deputy Vice Chancellor of Research and Innovation.

At UniSA Professor Monro personally funded a scheme, Research Momentum During Maternity Leave, to cover a range of ad hoc expenses to make it easier for women to manage their research commitments and the demands of a new baby.

Professor Monro is a tireless advocate for women in science and was a founding sponsor of the Science in Australia Gender Equity (SAGE) initiative, which is focussed on increasing the proportion of women in senior roles in Australian Universities. Under Professor Monro’s leadership, Defence Science and Technology Group has applied for Bronze accreditation with SAGE.

The Award for Excellence in Women’s Leadership also recognises Professor Monro as a role model for all women in the STEM environment and as an inspiration to others.

Professor Monro received her award on 1 August at the Leadership Symposium in Adelaide.

Other related releases