Joint Media Release - Prime Minister, Minister for Defence, Minister for Defence Industry, Minister for Defence Personnel - ADF Senior Leadership Appointments

Release details

Release type

Related ministers and contacts

The Hon Malcolm Turnbull MP

Prime Minister

Senator the Hon Marise Payne

Minister for Defence

The Hon Christopher Pyne MP

Minister for Defence Industry

The Hon Darren Chester MP

Minister for Veterans’ Affairs

Minister for Defence Personnel

Media contacts

Prime Minister’s office:    (02) 6277 7744

Defence Minister’s office:  Henry Budd, 0429 531 143

Minister for Defence Industry’s office:   Scott Bolitho, 0439 764 809

Minister for Defence Personnel’s office: Whilemina Prendergast, 0427 672 815

Release content

16 April 2018

The Government will recommend to the Governor-General a number of command changes to the Australian Defence Force.

Following confirmation, Lieutenant General Angus Campbell  AO, DSC will be appointed Chief of the Defence Force when Air Chief Marshal Mark Binskin AC completes his tenure in July.

Lt Gen Campbell joined the ADF in 1981 and has demonstrated outstanding leadership during his time as Chief of Army. His guidance will be instrumental as Australia modernises its military capabilities and continues its operations both in our region and around the globe.

The Government extends its deepest gratitude and thanks to retiring Chief of the Defence Force ACM Binskin who has served with our nation with great distinction during a period of high operational tempo.

ACM Binskin has overseen Australia’s highly successful contribution to the counter-Daesh coalition in the Middle East and our transition from combat operations to the current train, advise and assist mission in Afghanistan, and his leadership will continue in the coming months.

The Government will also recommend the Governor-General appoint Vice Admiral David Johnston AM as Vice Chief of the Defence Force.

As Chief of Joint Operations VADM Johnston has been instrumental in the planning and conduct of our military campaigns and exercises over the past four years.

Vice Chief of Defence Force Vice Admiral Ray Griggs AO, CSC will retire from the ADF in July. Acknowledging his significant contribution over four decades in the ADF, the Government looks forward to VADM Griggs continuing his contribution to public service in the future.

The Government also extends its sincere gratitude to Chief of Navy Tim Barrett AO, CSC who will also retire from the ADF in July after a 42 year career.

He has overseen the Royal Australian Navy as it undertakes its largest and most important modernisation since WWII.

The Government will recommend Air Vice Marshal Mel Hupfeld AO, DSC be appointed Chief of Joint Operations. AVM Hupfeld is currently the head of Force Design and responsible for the development of our future force.

Following confirmation of the preceding appointments, other senior appointments will include:

  • Rear Admiral Mike Noonan AM to Chief of Navy, and
  • Major General Rick Burr AO, DSC, MVO to Chief of Army.

Chief of Air Force Air Marshal Leo Davies AO, CSC, who was appointed to a four year term in July 2015, will continue to serve in his current position.  

These senior appointments ensure the Australian Defence Force continues to have strong leadership in this period of increasing strategic uncertainty and that it is best placed to protect Australia’s safety and security.

Other related releases