Board to provide expert advice on Defence Industry Innovation

An expert board of Defence industry representatives, unions and Government agencies has been established to provide high level advice on Defence industry programs to the Federal Government.

Minister for Defence Materiel Jason Clare said one of the first tasks of the Defence Industry Innovation Board would be to work on the Guidelines for the new Priority Industry Capability Innovation Program.

This $44.9 million program will provide funding, particularly to small to medium sized enterprises, to develop innovative products that contribute to our Priority Industry Capability goals.

The Board will be chaired by Mr David Mortimer AO and will hold its first meeting at the Avalon Air Show.

The Board will be made up of representatives from primes, small and medium enterprises, industry associations, Defence and the Department of Innovation, Industry, Science and Research. They include:


Mr Michael Ward

Managing Director

Raytheon Australia

Mr Rob Forbes

Chief Executive Officer

CEA Technologies Pty Limited

Mr Graham Priestnall

National President

Australian Industry and Defence Network

Mr Ben White

Manager, Defence Industry Unit

Australian Business Limited

Air Marshal John Harvey AM

Chief Capability Development Group

Department of Defence

Mr Harry Dunstall

General Manager Commercial Group

Defence Materiel Organisation

Professor Robert Clark

Chief Defence Scientist

Defence Science and Technology Organisation

Ms Judith Zielke

Head of Division – Enterprise Connect

Department of Innovation, Industry, Science & Research

Mr David Oliver

National Secretary

Australian Manufacturing Workers Union

Representative of the Australian Industry Group

Representative of the Australian Council of Trade Unions

Media contact: Korena Flanagan – 02 6277 7620

MS-Word Version


Subscribe to our RSS Feed